STDs and Testing

I figured the Recovery Nation chapter on STDs would be redundant. TL and I are already painfully aware that I gave her herpes after contracting it from a prostitute. But, the following passage is a haunting reminder of what I have done. 

“One of the most devastating consequences of having engaged in sexually compulsive behavior is the potential that you may have compromised your physical health and/or the health of your partner. What complicates this is the reality that most who engage in such behavior also tend to engage in ‘magical thinking’ in terms of contracting such diseases. That being, ‘they likely won’t; don’t have an STD and so, there is no need to admit the possibility that they may’. ”

This “magical thinking” is real. That’s exactly what I did. That concept itself probably suggests further research I can do. How did I let myself engage in magical thinking? I don’t really understand it. I must have subconsciously calculated that my insecurity and obsessions were more important to me than health. It’s very sad.

One thought on “STDs and Testing

  1. So true…the magical thinking. The delusional thinking. That you will not get an STI, that people do not know as you are discreet, that all can be fixed with your partner…
    It is widespread….as widespread as the STIs.

    I commend you for doing all the lessons and for sharing your experiences. You were honest and have done so much more than many others.

    Elisabeth

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

